Memorial Medical Center Confers Nursing Excellence Awards

Memorial Medical Center honored seven registered nurses and one patient care technician with nursing excellence awards and recognized members of the 3C Intensive Care Unit with the 2021 Daisy Team Award for their exceptional resilience in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Daisy Team Award recognized not only the unit’s nurses but also its patient care technicians, secretaries and physicians, all of whom “dealt with evolving infection control guidelines, ever-changing treatment protocols and immense pressure to deliver the highest standards of care to our very ill patients with COVID-19,” said Marsha Prater, senior vice president and chief nursing officer for Memorial Medical Center.

The eight individual nursing awards, presented each May during National Nurses Week, recognized nursing team members for exceeding criteria established by the American Nurses Credentialing Center to achieve Magnet recognition. The Magnet designation is the highest honor a healthcare organization can attain for nursing excellence. Memorial Medical Center has achieved Magnet status three times in a row.

The honorees were Starr Knoles, registered nurse, 2E Oncology, Mentor of the Year Award; Brian Gilley, registered nurse, Post Anesthesia Care Unit, Preceptor of the Year Award; Jessica Weirich, registered nurse, Family Maternity Suites, Structural Empowerment Magnet Nursing Award; Jamie Fair, registered nurse, 4C Acute Dialysis Unit, Transformational Leadership Award; Francine Johnson, patient care technician, 6B Cardiac Unit, Sunflower Award; Abigail Hose, registered nurse, 4G Neurology, New Knowledge, Innovations and Technology Award; Mary Cooley, registered nurse, Vascular Access Nurse, Empirical Outcomes Magnet Nursing Award; and Corrie Taylor, registered nurse, 5A/G Psychiatry, Exemplary Professional Practice Magnet Nursing Award.

« Back to News